Orange, Lemon & Cashew Butter Overnight Oatmeal

When the opportunity to buy 1kg of cashew butter for only ¬£7.80 dropped itelf into my lap this week, I wasn’t going to say no. I’m an easy to please human- take some nuts, make them into a butter, put that nut butter into my face, all is well. So I had to do something creative with this cashew butter (if only as a means of comfort eating my way through this cold weather, and the last two weeks of my semester). Enjoy.

Ingredients

70g Oats (rolled, not steel-cut)
100g Soya Yoghurt (I use Alpro Simply Plain)
15g Cashew Butter (I used Bulk Powder’s Smooth Cashew Butter in mine)
50ml Unsweetened Almond Milk
1/2 Orange (juiced, came to about 45mls for me)
1/2 Lemon (juiced, came to avout 25mls for me)
4tsp Stevia

Method

1. Throw everything (except for your cashew butter) into a breakfast bowl or jar of your choice and mix well.

2. If your cashew butter is as solid as mine (with a fudge-like texture) break up your cashew butter into small pieces and sprinkle into your oatmeal, and mix in well. If you have more runny cashew butter, this recipe will work just as well if you swirl the cashew butter into the mixture. After this is done, you might want to grate a little bit of the orange and lemon rind onto the top of the oats; I highly recommend it for that added zestiness.

orange-lemon-oatmeal-close-up-crop

3. Cover/seal, and leave in the fridge overnight, or for at least 5-6 hours. In the morning, go to town on that zesty, oaty, fudgy goodness. Serves 1, or you can double up this recipe to use up those fruits completely.

Per Serving:

439 Calories
15.3g Protein
15.8g Fat
56g Carbs

Leave a Reply

