Black Bean Chilli

Back when I first started getting in shape, this meal was my friend- a friend which demanded not money nor culinary skill; which is good, as I lacked in both departments.

(Note: If the protein seems a little low for this recipe, it’s because I used the nutritional info for black beans on the cans that I use (Dunn’s River), so the protein for this recipe is the absolute minimum you would get from this recipe, and other sources for black bean macros put the protein content at far higher, which is always good news.)

Ingredients

1 can Black beans (I use Dunn’s River from Tesco)
1/2 Medium onion, chopped
1 can Chopped tomatoes
165g Sweetcorn (equates to a drained 198g can)
2tsp Chilli powder
2tsp Cumin
1tsp Garlic powder/ 2 cloves Garlic (whatever you have lying around)
80g Mixed peppers (Asda is excellent for bags of these frozen beauties- it’s lazy, yes, but I like to get my money’s worth out of food so I avoid perishables where possible.)
5 sprays Neutral-tasting oil (with a standard 2 calories per spray bottle)
2tsp Stevia
120g Brown rice (raw weight as always)

Method

1. Chop the onion, spray the oil into the bottom of a large cooking pot and fry the onions on a medium heat.

2. Rinse your rice and cook for 26 minutes.

3. While the rice is cooking, add all the ingredients but the black beans to the pot. Cover and allow to simmer for 10 mins.

4. After simmering, add the black beans. Cover again and give another 10 minutes. Serve over rice. This recipe serves 2.

Per Serving:

471 Calories
14.3g Protein
6.4g Fat
65.8g Carbs

3 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks delicious!

    Like

    1. Georgie says:

      By all means try it out and let me know how it goes! I’d love to see 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

